Anglican Diocese of Wellington
We are family, we are disciples, we care for the last, the lost, and the least.
Home > Anglican Centre > About the Anglican Church > Mission Council

Mission Council

Diocesan Councils, Boards and Committees

Following a decision of Synod in 1998 a new management structure for the Diocese was implemented whereby all Diocesan Councils, Boards and Committees had to report to either the Mission Council, the Ministry Group, or the Management Committee.

Mission Council

The primary goal of the Mission Council is to prioritise, shape, direct and encourage
the church, as a whole in the Diocese, to prioritise the five-fold mission statement (see
under the heading Mission of Diocese).

More specifically, the key tasks of Mission Council are:

  1. to develop long term (mission focused)  goals for the Diocese, for approval by Synod
  2. to determine what financial resources need to be allocated to meet those goals, 
  3. to arrange the appointment of people to undertake particular projects in any area of mission in the Diocese, and to direct, monitor and support such appointments to ensure the successful completion of the project.

Mission Council comprises the Bishop and typically ten people, some elected at Synod and some appointed at Diocesan management level. Each person elected or appointed holds office for a term of two years.  The Mission Council reports annually to Synod.

No reira waiho ko te aroha o Te Matua Kaha Rawa hei korowai mou.
May the love of Almighty God enfold you!